No “Sin” in “Sincere” (thanks, Mr. Willson)

03/09/2010

Here’s what I cannot do.

  • Tell a joke.
  • Grill anything so it should be willingly consumed by human people.
  • Have a conversation in French. quel domage

Here’s what I am not doing.

  • A food blog (already done beautifully by Kara and Ellen)
  • A gorgeously photographed blog (Jan’s is exquisite)
  • A private family blog (Sean and Sydney. Elizabeth. ‘Nuf said)

This begs the question:    What can I do? (cue rim shot)

Without a doubt,   I can spot a sincere pumpkin patch.

This is not exactly a marketable skill. Still, it’s one of my favorite attributes.

Sincerity: Not as coveted an attribute as talent or beauty or effortless cool. And I am certainly not claiming to possess those qualities in any measure. I’m just saying that I recognize sincerity when I encounter it.

Are you seeing Linus yet? Linus in the Pumpkin Patch

Those who are inclined to take sides often prefer Charlie Brown’s Christmas to It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown. Not me. Well, yes of course, I appreciate the scene in which Linus instructs Charlie Brown on the true meaning of Christmas. (Can you conjure this scene without hearing Christopher Shea’s worldly lisp?) In fact, it is Linus’s grounded sincerity which encourages Charlie Brown to rescue the iconically woeful little tree.

And then there’s the sublime Vince Guaraldi score…

But for me, nothing beats Linus in the pumpkin patch on his annual quixotic Halloween vigil. And, of all the pumpkin patches in all the world, what will lure the mercurial Great Pumpkin to Linus’s pumpkin patch? Sincerity.

I don’t see how a pumpkin patch can be more sincere than this one. You can look around and there’s not a sign of hypocrisy. Nothing but sincerity as far as the eye can see.

I’m with you, Linus. Right there under that fantastic purple-gray sky.

I think it must be said that Linus’s appreciation of sincerity arises from his own guilessness. Is there a more earnest character in all of literature? But I don’t believe it is necessary to be without a trace of hypocrisy to be a capable sincerity spotter. With that, I am certainly outing my own shortcomings. And I wish I were wrong.

But Linus is my role model, my guide, my muse.

In a world of hollow disappointments, the wish to encounter sincerity may be as impractical a desire as Linus’s yearly act of devotion. And as spiritually necessary.

This effort is devoted to all my Linuses and my pursuit of Sincerity.

 

One Response to “No “Sin” in “Sincere” (thanks, Mr. Willson)”

  1. Sean Says:

    Linus’ sincerity is as endless as that purple-gray sky, and all the more impressive by his faith. He has critics and non-believers to contend with, but they don’t impact him. From the wildly flawed second Matrix movie:

    Commander Lock: Dammit, Morpheus. Not everyone believes what you believe.
    Morpheus: My beliefs do not require them to.


Leave a Reply

