Tweaking the Project Already

04/10/2010

new and improved system: 1/4

Urgency Day 496

500 Things Item #5: kitchen utensils

[selection template at end of post]

Five days into my Get Rid of 500 Things Project— and I need to make some adjustments.

Last night, Paul, my incredibly patient darling, casually asked why the cookie cutters and the chafing dish I recently blogged about were still kicking around.

Fun Fact:

Most things in the Project won’t be dispersed the same day they are posted.

It’s just logistics, man.

Obviously, the eBay stuff will go out as auctions end. That usually means within 2 days after the end of a 7 day auction. For my Hummel auction, that means around April 17th.

Fair enough. But the cookie cutters and chafing dish weren’t posted as eBay sales. What about them?

Enter a Tale of Four Boxes.

  • Box 1: Clothing
  • Box 2: Books
  • Box 3: Families Helping Families donations
  • Box 4: Yard sale

Four large boxes have been set aside to organize and corral my cast-offs.

Clothing that is not forwarded to my similarly-sized, expertly-frugal friend Sydney will be donated to one of our various ubiquitous community clothing drives.

Books are shared with kindred spirits or donated to the local Friends of the Library book sale.

The group we work with, Families Helping Families, often puts out a call for donations to meet our clients’ needs. This box will hold household items and other supplies I know will be useful to our families.

That last box, the yard sale box, that’s the one about which I have considerable ambivalence. In the past, I have staged some pretty successful yard sales. Lots of effort but also lots of profit. The best ones were held when we lived in college towns, in great high-traffic locations. The last few also took lots of effort. The profits could at best be described as disappointing.

I thought, with some relief, that when I discovered eBay and Craig’s List selling my yard sale days were over. No more days and days of sorting and tagging selections, printing and laminating(!) signs, and praying and praying(!!) for decent weather.

Happily, eBay lets me sell my detritus in say, as actually happened this winter, a raging snowstorm. Tough conditions for even die-hard yard salers!

But what I definitely need to fine tune is how to make eBay work on lower-priced items. My learning curve is still absorbing how to find the sweet spot in calculating shipping fees, where you don’t chase away potential bidders but also don’t lose all the money you make at the post office.

In considering this and weighing the cost/benefits of eBay and yard sales, I hit upon an idea that holds some appeal to me. I will keep eBaying for sure, but I’m going to try one more yard sale, and call it a “theme” yard sale.

More on this to come!

So, today’s item, a collection of kitchen utensils such a whisk, wooden spoons, a cheese grater, etc. Or, in templated form:

  • Purchased across the cooking years
  • Well-used but with plenty of usefulness left
  • Happy to pay it forward
  • FHF donation

I hope they contribute to many more tasty family meals.


<!–[if !mso]> <! st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) } –>

Urgency Day 496

500 Things Item #5: kitchen utensils

[selection template at end of post]

Five days into my Get Rid of 500 Things Project– and I need to make some adjustments.

Last night, Paul, my incredibly patient darling, casually asked why the cookie cutters and the chafing dish I recently blogged about were still kicking around.

Fun Fact: Most things in the Project won’t be dispersed the same day they are posted.

It’s just logistics, man.

Obviously, the eBay stuff will go out as auctions end. That usually means within 2 days after the end of a 7 day auction. For my Hummel auction, that means around April 17th.

Fair enough. But the cookie cutters and chafing dish weren’t posted as eBay sales. What about them?

Enter a Tale of Four Boxes.

· Box 1: Clothing

· Box 2: Books

· Box 3: Families Helping Families donations

· Box 4: Yard sale

Four large boxes have been set aside to organize and corral my cast-offs.

Clothing that is not forwarded to my similarly-sized, expertly-frugal friend Sydney will be donated to one of our various ubiquitous community clothing drives.

Books are shared with kindred spirits or donated to the local Friends of the Library book sale.

The group we work with, Families Helping Families, often puts out a call for donations to meet our clients’ needs. This box will hold household items and other supplies I know will be useful to our families.

That last box, the yard sale box, that’s the one about which I have considerable ambivalence. In the past, I have staged some pretty successful yard sales. Lots of effort but also lots of profit. The best ones were held when we lived in college towns, in great high-traffic locations. The last few also took lots of effort. The profits could at best be described as disappointing.

I thought, with some relief, that when I discovered eBay and Craig’s List selling my yard sale days were over. No more days and days of sorting and tagging selections, printing and laminating(!) signs, and praying and praying(!!) for decent weather.

Happily, eBay lets me sell my detritus in say, as actually happened this winter, a raging snowstorm. Tough conditions for even die-hard yard salers!

But what I definitely need to fine tune is how to make eBay work on lower-priced items. My learning curve is still absorbing how to find the sweet spot in calculating shipping fees, where you don’t chase away potential bidders but also don’t lose all the money you make at the post office.

In considering this and weighing the cost/benefits of eBay and yard sales, I hit upon an idea that holds some appeal to me. I will keep eBaying for sure, but I’m going to try one more yard sale, and call it a “theme” yard sale.

More on this to come!

So, today’s item, a collection of kitchen utensils such a whisk, wooden spoons, a cheese grater, etc. Or, in templated form:

  • Purchased across the cooking years
  • Well-used but with plenty of usefulness left
  • Happy to pay it forward
  • FHF donation

I hope they contribute to many more tasty meals.

2 Responses to “Tweaking the Project Already”

  1. sydney Says:

    Thanking my lucky stars that I’m your “similarly-sized, expertly-frugal friend”. Rarely does a day go by that I’m not wearing some piece of clothing that makes me think of you, even if it’s those stockings I lifted from you in Vegas.


Leave a Reply

