George Won’t Fool Me Again

06/28/2010

Urgency Day 417

500 Things Items 81-84:  DVDs

  • Purchases
  • Wish they had been rentals
  • No ambivalence at un-possessing
  • Sell or donate

Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me; fool me thrice?

Shame on George.

Yep. I blame George. And not Bush. This time.


What was George Lucas thinking?

The story is about, what? Trade issues or something. The kid cannot act. And the alien sidekick’s accent is insulting to viewers. And really insulting to Jamaicans. And really really insulting to aliens.

So why did we keep going to these abominations? And, oh my gawd, why did I buy even one?

I blame George.

Ditto the Pirates sequel included in this group, though I’m not entirely sure who to blame for that mess. Although Industrial Light and Magic did do the visual effects. Hmmm….

But Star Trek 8: First Contact? Pure bliss. The only reason it’s in this give-away is because Donna gave me the special edition with director Jonathon Frakes’ commentary. He is such a fan, it makes me giddy. And yes, I know, ILM did the fx. Exception proves the pattern or something.

Did you know there is something of a pattern in the Trek franchise? Films with even numbers have been considered the more successful efforts:

  • #2 Wrath of Khan (the pecs)
  • #4 Voyage Home (the whales)
  • #8 First Contact (the Borg)

Of course, that’s a selective list. I skipped #6 Undiscovered Country (arg) and the latest film simply entitled Star Trek would technically be #11 and it’s AWE-SOME. The point is– small pattern: 2-4-8, and I love patterns.

And I love Star Trek. No foolin’.

Inventory: (Bonus! 2 each for four days)

  1. Star Wars: The Phantom Menace
  2. Star Trek: First Contact
  3. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest
  4. Twelfth Night
  5. Thirteen Days
  6. King Kong (yes, the original)
  7. Johnny English
  8. The Neverending Story
Leave a Reply

