Bubble Likes

11/03/2010

Play it forward again, Sam.

Urgency Day 289

500 Things Items 203-212: Ten Toys!

  • History: Various celebrations
  • Value: Mostly pretty good
  • Parting Pain: None
  • Un-possessing: Donations— and now the project is caught up!

Do you have guilty pleasures?

Yeah– me, too. The movie “Knocked Up” is one of mine.

No one should ever justify their guilty pleasures. It’s like trying to explain why a joke is funny. And I’m not going to explain this slight aberration in my usually predictable affections. Nope, not gonna. Except for this one little thing.

There’s an exchange between the characters Pete and Ben, when Pete says,

“I wish I liked anything as much as my kids like bubbles.”

It just makes you ask yourself:  What do I like as much as kids like bubbles?

Everyone should quickly be able to name four things they like as much as kids like bubbles. And you can’t say your family and friends (this actually saves some people some awkward conversations). Here are mine:

  1. Friends (Ha! The TV show)
  2. Walking to my neighborhood stores in different seasons
  3. Riding my bike with Paul
  4. Cake

Why four? No reason, four just came to me quickly. If you have more than four, I am delighted for you. If you have fewer than four, bubbles are cheap.

I could also add writing, cooking, organizing and listening to music, but then I start to wonder if these are really bubble-likes.

Also, I do like bubbles, and I bet you do, too.

Champagne.


5 Responses to “Bubble Likes”

  1. kara Says:

    Not Mancala! That’s Andrew and mine go-to game. In fact, I think we should play a round tonight!

    • sthibeault Says:

      Oh no! Should I send you Mancala along with various kitchen implements and the 6 Mason jars?
      Dominoes is our go-to game (that would make a good survey question!). The dominoes in the donation don’t match the rest of our set, so out they go. It’s just vicious survival around here. [See coyote post.]

  2. Erin Says:

    Before I read your answers I tried to guess what your four favorite things were… I got 2 1/2 correct! I said Friends, Riding your bike, and DONUTS! Since when do you like cake better than donuts?

    …and truly I could add to your list. I know you pretty well. 🙂 Ooooohhh! We should make a list of all of the things that Suzy loves!!!

    xoxoErin

  3. sthibeault Says:

    You know me as well as anyone, babe, and you better get Friends! I love donuts and I have a gluten-free recipe I want to try, but it means frying and all that. Cake is just easier to make and, therefore, I can be eating it before I can be eating donuts. See how logical?

  4. melanie Says:

    What a great movie quote/question. Just so you know, I always have a supply of bubble blowing fluid.


Leave a Reply

