What to Eat for the Time Change

03/03/2011

sunny enough to banish winter (photo: W. Skalij)

Urgency Day 169

500 Things Items 328-30: Brown Duds

  • History: From my brown period
  • Value: Didn’t wear enough to warrant costs
  • Parting Pain: Better in theory than practice
  • Un-possessing: Donations

In continuing my series of colorful clothing cast-offs:

The Y-slot of ROY G BIV

Yellow. Recently, I have been singing the praises of something very very yellow indeed: Meyer Lemons. Here’s what I encourage, maybe courteously insist, you try: Meyer Lemon Pizza, very appropriate for happy hour. Still with me?

You will need:

  • Your favorite pizza crust
  • Olive oil
  • Some good goat cheese
  • A handful of Kalamata olives-pitted and sliced
  • 1 Meyer lemon– very thinly sliced
  • Fresh rosemary- chopped
  • Balsamic vinegar to garnish

Instructions:

  • Bake the pizza crust according to the package directions. You’re looking for thoroughly warmed, but not crisped.
  • Remove warmed crust from oven, and reset oven to broil. Move oven rack to highest position.
  • Top crust with some olive oil, smeared dollops of goat cheese, the sliced olives and very very thin slices of the Meyer lemons. Trust me here.
  • Sprinkle generously with the fresh rosemary.
  • Pop under the broiler and watch carefully—you’re looking for bubbly cheese but not burnt crust.
  • Remove when it looks fabulous to you and serve in small wedges with a sprinkling of balsamic vinegar. (I used fig balsamic a friend had given me. I hope you have such a friend.)

OH MY GRAVY! (For fans of the Cowboys on The Amazing Race) Even the 18-year old Self-Contained Unit agreed.

But I really don’t think this would work with a regular lemon. The difference is the slight sweetness of the Meyers, which are a hybrid of lemons and mandarin oranges.

Wow. When is happy hour? Meanwhile, back in my closet…

The role of yellow will be played by the color brown. You see, I don’t really wear yellow, but I love wearing brown. Love love love. As my sister once observed, “The brown clothes get really excited when you come in the store, Suz.”

I guess there is a world of sad brown clothing out there, since I don’t shop anymore.

And now I have accumulated a disproportionate amount of brown clothes to dispossess. Clothes I have loved loved loved. In the past.

The times, they are a-changin’.

Did you know Daylight Savings Time begins in a couple of weeks? I was horrified to discover this. Not because I’m not looking forward to more sunlight; I am! Our Chicago winter included a very satisfying blizzard, but in that time, we averaged only 8% of the available sunlight. Even for a devout nester, that’s not enough sun.

So why the dismay over the approaching time change?

Simple, bad timing. It happens to coincide with a trip. I will lose an hour with my family. And then after the 13-hour trip home, springing forward will mean we lose an hour of travel-recovery. It works that way, right? Time is relative, as is time with relatives.

But the clouds will part and the angels sing, when I make them that amazing lemon-yellow pizza.

You can bet I will be wearing something brown.

just not these


9 Responses to “What to Eat for the Time Change”

  1. melanie Says:

    I am so making this pizza. Inspiration for lightening one’s load of posessions and adding a new recipe all in one blog post!

  2. boysgonewild Says:

    Guess what I’m wearing? A brown sweater. Which I love, so I will NOT be putting this one in my (ever growing) donation pile.

    Maybe I can scare up something yellow I don’t like anymore and give that away on your behalf.

    xoxo
    Elizabeth

  3. Sydney Says:

    Donna always has the best quotes, and it’s so true– when I conjure up an image of you in my mind (as I often do), it’s always amidst a palette of browns, dark greens, and bursts of beautiful orange.

    Today I happen to be wearing a hand-me-down that you gave me 15 years ago, just before my first pregnancy. A clingy long skirt/turtleneck duo in a dark-green ribbed knit. Do you remember? AND I paired it with the Sleeping on Snow zip sweater that you and Joyce gave me for Christmas years ago, the one with the brown cuffs and hood. I’ve been thinking of you all day!

    I can’t part with my brown and green. Yet.

  4. Donna Says:

    As it happens, I was wearing an entirely brown outfit as I read your blog. Brown seems to be my day-off color. Some combination of red and black seems to be what I wear to work. (Go Warhawks!)

    As I was sitting with my ducks in their rows going over the particulars of your impending visit (Yeah!), I too noticed that daylights savings time would end as you were about to commence your trip home and I thought that was really crap timing. Oh well. As Mom would say, “What we can do?” We’ll just cram the pleasures of being together into one less hour.

    Can’t wait.
    Donna (aka Ronna — and she’s ready :))

  5. kara Says:

    I just bought a Meyer lemon and plan to make your pizza! In your honor I’m going to try making a gluten free crust. My plan is to mix up rice and coconut flour with water and maybe butter and roll it out. Think it will work? Better ideas are welcome as long as they don’t require any crazy GF products like tapioca starch or xanthan gum.

  6. sthibeault Says:

    I don’t think this will work. You would still need yeast and probably cra-zee xanthan gum. I recommend a prepared crust from Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods, or from a mix, like Bob’s. Sorry.


Leave a Reply

