Spot Treatment

05/27/2011

problem spotted

Urgency Day 90

500 Things Items 404-406: Laundry Mishaps

  • History: Moving-too-fast purchases
  • Value: Without coupons, approx. $15
  • Parting Pain: Yes, as a cautionary tale
  • Un-possessing: Offering to non-HE needing friends

Do you love Simon and Garfunkel?

I sure do. Which songs would be in the middle of our hypothetical Simon and Garfunkel Venn diagram: Bridge Over Troubled Water, Scarborough Fair, Sounds of Silence? Probably. How do you feel about Feelin’ Groovy?

It should be the song that is on a constant loop when I grocery shop.

Slow down, you move too fast…

I have a bad habit of trying to sneak in a quick trip to the grocery store– you know, just for “a couple of things”– before bus stop duty. This engenders several consistent results:

  1. I buy too little
  2. I buy too much
  3. I usually forget the one thing I actually went for.
  4. And I can be relied upon to buy the wrong laundry detergent.

My block on this is quite uncanny. I know I have a high efficiency washer. I know I need HE designated laundry detergent. But in the face of the

WALL OF LAUNDRY PRODUCTS:

the liquids, the powders, the gels; mountain scent, citrus scent, fragrance free, dye free, bleach alternative, best in cold water, on the rocks or straight up…

I am standing there, knowing I should already be loading the groceries into my car or I’m going to be late, not still STILL standing there, overwhelmed by laundry detergent.

4. And I can be relied upon to buy the wrong laundry detergent.

Last September, I wrote about wanting to fluff my laundry nook. It’s small and less than inspiring, and I just wanted a pretty spot to accomplish this most Zen of tasks—one that is never ever truly finished.

There’s nothing like hosting a big party to inspire a few household updates.

Just in time for the Self-Contained Unit’s grad party, I slapped a coat of pretty blue-green-grey paint on the walls, scrubbed everything else down, and you know what? That tip about a coat of paint being the best quick-fix is really true!

calm

I am so happy with my freshened up laundry area, I vow to take special care in selecting the correct HE laundry detergent to use there. I promise to stop and feel groovy.

Plus, school’s done for me now.

More about that to follow…

2 Responses to “Spot Treatment”

  1. kara Says:

    Love the cute laundry room! Thanks for the inspiration to pick up my paint brush! And for the inspiration to remove all of the clothes that are covering our HE washer…

  2. melanie mackin Says:

    Laughed out loud with feelings of being able to relate. 1) I love Simon and Garfunkel too. Feeling Groovy is sure to make the world a happier place. 2)The laundry aisle is not a place for the weak-kneed or for those who cannot speed read. It’s a library of differing labels. 3)Have a great celebration for SCU.


Leave a Reply

