Soaked

07/18/2011

disarming

Urgency Day 37

500 Things Items 458-63: 6 Super Soakers (TM Larami Co.)

  • History: From the last fabulous summer visit of the Brothers Bonney
  • Value: $20? And/or priceless
  • Parting pain: Yes, 6 era-ending markers
  • Un-possessing: Gifts

FABULOUS way to wake up: Surrounded by friends at a truly spectacular lake-front home.

NOT FABULOUS way to wake up: Slapped with copyright infringement notices.

  • I HAVE TAKEN DOWN THE DISPUTED IMAGE.
  • I am chastened.
  • I am worried.
  • I am ready to scurry back to my hole.

Ah well, the Universe giveth and It taketh away. We had a lovely water-filled weekend, bursting with story-telling, belly laughs, clinking glasses and almost enough big fat still-warm-from-the-sun Michigan blueberries even for me.

And do you live somewhere where you could see That Moon Saturday night? That was the Universe giveth-ing.

If I hadn’t managed to time gasping over That Moon with breaking my clinking glass, well, I guess I wouldn’t be me. Yes, hide the stemware: I’m a glass-breaker.

Why am I the only one worried about this?

The 5 multi-hued Super Soaker water guns (TM Larami Co.) I am downsizing today come from the arsenal of the Self-Contained Unit and are being dispersed with his blessing. There were a total of 8 young men ranging in age from 15-23 at the lake house this weekend. There was not a single water gun battle.

Trademarked or otherwise.

Postscript: In referencing “scurrying back to my hole,” I had a past-life flashback. VERY past. I think I was one of those tiny mouse-like creatures that lived a perilous life; dodging enormous, rampaging dinosaurs by day; and at night, darting out to nibble on plants and tremble.

And worry.

4 Responses to “Soaked”

  1. kara Says:

    What? Tell me about copyright infringement notices! Email if posting it will get you in trouble.

    My first thought was kudos to you! That means people are reading! As a blogger myself, I wonder what my reach is and yours certainly is far enough to grab attention!

    I need details.

    • sthibeault Says:

      I don’t think it was “reach” that got me in a pickle. I think it was lots of clever equations endlessly picking apart even tiny little operations like mine for the merest suggestion of undocumented praise. I bow to THEIR reach– and blink and flinch and defuse.

  2. melanie Says:

    Our last Great Water Gun battle was when my now 29-year-old nephew was 15. Realizing this, last week I downsized my collection of aqua-ammo. We are now back to the old-fashioned water guns that squirt 1 tablespoon of water at a time. Still fun. Especially at the dinner table.

  3. sthibeault Says:

    Once again, you and I are on the same page! Are you putting the arsenal in the yard sale? We could have a whole separate entrance for water gun enthusiasts.


Leave a Reply

