Travel Tape

07/21/2011

better travel with tape

Urgency Day 34

500 Things Items 464-66: Worn-out Bed Pillows

  • History: So tired and worn, I AM SPARING YOU THE PICTURES!
  • Value: New $45; Now $00
  • Parting pain: Horror at still having them
  • Un-possessing: Donate to animal shelter

Got tape?

If I’m traveling, my answer is always, “Of course.”

It is uncanny how often I need– or someone I am with needs– a piece of tape on a trip. The need can usually be satisfied with any kind of tape—masking, Scotch, duct, painter’s. It simply has to adhere one thing to another.

And the needs don’t vary much:  A gift requires securing; a note, sticking to a hotel room door. This was a more common need before cell phones. (That’s true of a lot of things, isn’t it?) But as predictable as the needs tend to be, it is surprising how few people tuck a roll of tape in their luggage.

I’m not complaining. I love hearing the incredulous gasps of “You do?!” from grateful friends in their moments of adhesive want.

But proving the adage “You never know,” Paul and I had an unusual tape need last weekend. As I mentioned in my last post, we were invited to the gorgeous lake house of dear friends. Our bedroom was in a turret-shaped feature of the house, with a panoramic view of the lake out of 5 large windows.

Now, Paul is a very early riser, and I’ve become an early riser (a shocking evolution for the teenager who could easily sleep until 2:00 in the afternoon; these days, I turn into a pumpkin at 9:00 in the evening). But even as a person who enjoys an early cup of coffee in a quiet house, I figured quite a lot of sun would be streaming through those 5 large windows a little too early. So, down went the 5 large rattan shades without a second thought.

Who knew you could buy black-out rattan shades?

Our room was absolutely pitch dark, which meant two things:

  1. The early-risersons didn’t get out of bed until 8:45 (Early to some, I know, but precious vacation hours were wasted!).
  2. More importantly, the white LED power-light on the wall-mounted TV was like a high-wattage laser beam BORING INTO OUR EYES all night long!

When Paul asked me how I had slept, I said,

“Great… except for the Big Brother Eye interrogating me all night long.”

“I KNOW!”

The second night? We slept as soundly as teenagers.

I had tape.

FOLLOW UP: In my last post, I stated that I had been accused of copyright infringement. Turns out, the transgressor was not me at all. Needless to say, I am MIGHTILY relieved, and I very much hope my suddenly completely gray hair can be returned to its usual only gray-at-the-roots state very soon.

6 Responses to “Travel Tape”

  1. Resweater Says:

    Too funny… I just asked my friends for old flat pillows! I am making a travel mattress for my son, to put in our camper. I just sewed several pillow cases together at the side seam, and will slip the flat pillows in. It will look like this: http://dn0ogew6jnq2k.cloudfront.net/1/62407323_FUzAZDMh_b.jpg .

    Taking tape with you on trips is pure brilliance.

  2. sthibeault Says:

    There are so few things you can do with tatty old pillows– you’ve found a great one! And it’s also about travel. Enjoy your camping! Thanks for the comment.

  3. Sydney Says:

    I want to see pictures of the turret bedroom with the five panoramic windows– it sounds like it was designed straight from my dreams!

    I’m so glad Resweater included a link to her travel mattress project because I went from thinking “huh?” to “neat!”.

  4. sthibeault Says:

    I need to get pictures from my friend. There was an unfortunate camera/picture incident this weekend, which means I don’t got none. And yes, it is the room of your dreams!

  5. melanie Says:

    I used to have the equivalent of duct tape: When I was a young(er) mom with young(er) kids, I never left home without Cheerios (TM!) They are multifunction: food, play, and building blocks in a pinch. My youngest son is now approximately 276 months old. Maybe I should retire the Cheerios? These days my version of your duct tape: scissors!

    • sthibeault Says:

      As the mother of 222 month-old British-dual citizenship child, I think you should continue to carry Cheerios. That’s covering a lot of bases. (Cheers!)


Leave a Reply

