Practice

07/26/2011

practice fx

Urgency Day 29

500 Things Item 467: The Broken Guitar

  • History: Broken NOT from practicing Pete Townsend moves; cannibalized for parts
  • Value: None, now
  • Parting pain: None, now
  • Un-possessing: Sadly, trash

The Self-Contained Unit left home today.

Not for good, just for practice.  Still, it’s close enough to his Real Launch Date that it feels like a tune-up. This trip is our family’s Downsizing Dress Rehearsal.

Many pursuits benefit from practice; some, such as music and sports, require daily application for improvement. And I suppose there is some merit to practicing sending your child off to college.

Certainly each of us will be “practicing” different college skills. I will ask the Self-Contained Unit’s aunt and grandmother whether over the next week he practices choosing to eat some vegetables, changing his sheets, or going to bed in time to get up for an 8:00 class.

And what will I practice?

Well, I will not practice wailing and sobbing. I will not practice glancing wistfully at the pictures of Sam cavorting with his cousins, his best friends, his mama. I will not practice missing his breezy “Love you” called toward my office after grabbing another granola bar from the pantry. I will not practice smelling his pillow for the last trace of his baby scent.

I will practice letting him text me first. I will practice patience. I will practice letting him go.

And, I will practice having my sweetie’s undivided attention. I will practice enjoying a clean house (particularly a certain notorious bathroom sink area). I will practice having a car all to myself whenever I want.

And I will practice worrying.

6 Responses to “Practice”

  1. Resweater Says:

    My son is only 5, but I am sitting here with tears in my eyes at the thought of him ever leaving home. I feel your pain. Hugs to you!

  2. melanie Says:

    May The Force be with you. Great practice strategy! About the veggies, though, don’t hold your breath. My mom is still waiting for me to eat mine.

  3. Katherine Says:

    PLEASE don’t practice worrying. You already know how to do that.

    JK & I were talking about the magical shield we have to protect each other–that I know that if JK is around, near, I can keep him safe. And I know he feels the same way. And that for some reason when one person gets on an airplane or goes some (undefined, long) distance away, it feels like the shield doesn’t work. Which of course is just as silly as the idea of the shield in the first place.

    Instead of worrying, can you practice extending the magic shield?

    OO Love XX

  4. sthibeault Says:

    KK, I love that both you and Melanie are thinking along similar lines. I’m familiar with The Force, fond of The Force, and think I’ll try an extension of my Force, which– let’s face it– is another name for a magical shield. I’m also casting Harry Potter’s Protego spell. What really stops me worrying (which happens more often during busy daylight hours) is the confidence that Sam is an incredibly competent person. And that feels pretty magic.

  5. Jim Says:

    Another way to look at ‘the college’ move is that everytime he comes home on break is that you’ll find what a great job of raising him!


Leave a Reply

