Cupcakes and Pickles

08/15/2011

help yourself

Urgency Day 7

500 Things Items 489-495: Glass Candlesticks and Plates

  • History: Assorted decorating/entertaining events
  • Value: Learning entertaining doesn’t have to be an Event
  • Parting pain: On the contrary—pleasure!
  • Unpossessing: Gifts

I don’t read self-help books. Unless you count Calvin and Hobbes.

Oh yeah, those two can really show you how to get out of a pickle!

For regular pickles (i.e. problems that are not careening-out-of-control-space-ships or rampaging dino-bullies), I keep to the advice we got from Sam’s pediatrician:

Eat four crackers, drink some cranapple juice,

and go play outside.

In other words, have a snack and breathe. This is pure genius.

With 7 days left, I am constantly reminding myself to breathe. Breathe. And make cupcakes. I’ve cupcaked 3 times in the last few days.

  • For Sam’s sweetheart’s departure;
  • For our neighbor’s seventeenth birthday;
  • For Sam.

When I’m in a pickle, I think cupcakes.

My affection for cupcakes and devotion to downsizing dovetailed this weekend when I saw a great suggestion on Wise Bread, a frugal-living website I follow. Take some glass candlesticks and glue glass plates to the tops: instant cake stands!

In my case: Lots of candlesticks to downsize + lots of plates to downsize = Lots of gifts to give. Just add cupcakes.

Not pickles.

Although my family does love a pickle (the cucumber kind):

  • The first time Paul peeked into my family’s refrigerator, he counted 13 jars of pickles.
  • My father would crack up his 2 year-old granddaughter by singing, “A B C D pickle pickle pickle!”
  • Favorite episode of The Andy Griffith Show? “The Pickle Story,” of course.

Pickles and cupcakes. Apparently my self-help reading also includes cookbooks.

6 Responses to “Cupcakes and Pickles”

  1. melanie Says:

    Loved every word of this post. But.. I think it was Arlo Guthrie who sang, contrary to your family,”I don’t want a pickle…. I just want to ride on my motor sickle.” Heresy.

    My self-help books of choice are anything written by Dr. Seuss. There is almost nothing you can’t learn from Cat in the Hat, Yertle the Turtle, or Oh, The Places You’ll Go!. I could go on and on. I now add Sam’s pediatrician to this list of good advice givers.

    Final point: OH MY GOSH! URGENCY DAY 7?! How did that happen?

  2. sthibeault Says:

    I am absolutely a Seussian! “Every Who down in Whoville knew Christmas didn’t come from a store…” Whos know from downsizing, Whos know less is more.

  3. melanie Says:

    That’s a perfect Seuss couplet!

  4. boysgonewild Says:

    Speaking of pickles, I made some last week. I have to wait for another week to see if it worked. We haven’t had a good round of “ABCD pickle pickle pickle” in awhile. Might have to sing it to the boys today.
    E

  5. Erika Says:

    We have been all about the fresh fruit lately- with so much fruit to eat ( did I tell you I bought 25 lbs of nectarines?) we haven’t had time or room for cupcakes! Not that I had fancy cake stands to put them in anyway 😉

    • sthibeault Says:

      Yes, yes, yes! I saw your gorgeous haul! I hope you had lots of canning equipment. And I’d like to come over, say, mid-February. xxoo


Leave a Reply

